Will Cadbury Get Kosher-For-Passover Creme Eggs?

cadbury

Growing up, many a Jewish child has coveted Cadbury Creme Eggs.

Appearing just before Pesach, the treats are certainly not kosher for the holiday. But the Jewish CEO of the company that controls Cadbury suggested all that might someday change.

“It’s certainly within the realm of possibility,” said Irene Rosenfeld of Mondelez International at the Convention of Central Conference of American Rabbis in Chicago, according to the AP.

“There’s a lot of work involved in making a Cadbury chocolate product,” Rosenfeld explained. “Our ability to kosher every aspect of it is a little bit challenging. But stay tuned,” she said tantalizingly.

Rosenfeld was delivering an address entitled “Moses, Madoff and Mondelez,” about how Judaism has affected her career.

According to the Cadbury website, the only ingredient in the eggs that could potentially be a problem is soy, which is considered kitniyot and is prohibited for many Jews.

Unfortunately, Cadbury Eggs are manufactured and distributed in the US exclusively by Hershey’s. And that company has not announced any plans to introduce a kosher version.

LIKE US ON FACEBOOK   

, , , , , , ,

Comments